Skip to content

The New Year

December 31, 2014

To me this is a belated wish since I started my new year on December 25th this year.  I did it for a couple of reasons.  Starting over and making a new start can happen at any time and under any circumstances.  Usually the time is not of our choosing and the circumstances typically less than pleasant.   The second reason relates to my recent blog entry called The Gift.

During the past six months I have been experiencing another hike through the wilderness.  I have been less close to God then I have been in quite some time.   It is not that I don’t know that He is with me because I am certain of that.  This isolation has manifested itself in the way that I am with Him.  I don’t spend the time that I need to with Him in manner in which I want to be with Him.  The lure of being involved in the worldly activities that swirl around me every day is a great temptation.  It captivates and entices and ensnares me as I feebly call out to the God of my salvation who steadfastly stands and waits for me to realize my folly.

His waiting for me does not imply that He is fixated on me or even that He is inactively or passively waiting.  I am, like everyone else, part of His cosmic plan and whether I choose to willingly and cheerfully embrace His will I am nevertheless compelled to follow it and execute my role accordingly.  My free will is accounted for, He know every hair upon my head.  Though, these days they are very short indeed.  I believe that I serve Him even when I am not willing doing so.

How do I know this to be true?  I have seen first-hand situation where I have endeavored to do one thing and the outcome was completely different and in hindsight it is clear to me that it was as it was supposed to be all along.  I was an unwitting player in a comedy or tragedy where no matter how poorly I recited my lines, the show was a tremendous success.

It brings to mind Caiaphas who stand before the Jewish leaders as they discussed what was to be done with another one of the pesky profits that spring up from time to time and attempt to upset the natural order of things.  He tells them, “Then one of them, named Caiaphas, who was high priest that year, spoke up, “You know nothing at all! You do not realize that it is better for you that one man die for the people than that the whole nation perish.”  He did not say this on his own, but as high priest that year he prophesied that Jesus would die for the Jewish nation, and not only for that nation but also for the scattered children of God, to bring them together and make them one.”, The Holy Bible, New International Version.

The man that would eventually be the point man for the seeking the arrest and execution of Jesus was God’s instrument in speaking the prophetic words that would mark speak of our Savior’s role in our combined salvation.  If God can use an enemy of His cause to bring about this type of action none of us can hope to be outside of His command.

I realize that I am not stating anything that most Christians already know.  This lesson is mine, and it being reviewed because the ‘world’ does get in the way at times.  More correctly, I should say that the way that we observe the world causes us at time to become focused on the wrong things.  Was Caiaphas an evil man?  Was he not just a Jewish Priest that was following the rules that he believed best honored God?

I have begun my year seeking Him in every aspect of my life.  I want to be the joyful giver, an active participant in God’s passion play.  I ask all of you to join me in prayer that we all can be the kind of servant that will make God smile upon us.  We don’t have to be perfect, it is not expected of us.  We don’t have to put on sack cloth and ashes and scourge ourselves in penance.  God wants us to open our hearts and accept Jesus as our Savior, to honor and worship Him.  He has given us the true gift the one we do not deserve.

Happy New Year – He has risen!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

