Skip to content

A Perfect Mirror

September 17, 2014

I am wondering what I found so captivating in the image that I saw in that special mirror.  It hung on my wall for such a very long time  and it challenged me.  My narcissistic bent allowed me to become Narcissus-Caravaggio (1594-96) edited.jpgconsumed by me and with me.  The primary motivating factor was fear.  I was afraid that I would not be given what I was supposed to get.  I don’t think that I was suffering from something that much different from many people today.  Granted, most others do not go to the extremes that I went.   It is a dark place where we see a beautiful vision of ourselves reflecting back to us from a warped mirror.  The distortion is our perceived self image an untarnished and unblemished picture of who we think we are.  It our imagined perfection that makes us feel entitled to more.  We feel that we are owed everything as we cannot see past that looking glass.

At a time when I was at my worst, God showed me who I really was.  Humility becomes the cornerstone of the servants heart. It is only possible to serve generously when we recognize who we really are.  Our relative importance in a very limited scope would put each of us as one seven billionth of the population of our planet.  It shows us how small and insignificant we really are and our tiny screaming voice struggles to be heard above the roar of the collective humanity.  It is in this and through this realization that God’s message best resonates.  He is the only one that can validate our worth, and it is shown to us through His eyes.  His mirror perfectly reflects back to us a true and right image.  There is no distortion, and while it may not be pretty, it is shown to us through love.  We know that we are imperfect yet perfectly loved.  Completely consumed by that love that is God and God alone.

He reaches out to us and we can’t help but smile through tear clouded eyes.  His love for us is pure and is complete.  Paul in his letter to the Romans illustrates this love when he writes:

“What shall we say to these things?  If God is with us who can be against us?  He who did not spare His own Son but delivered Him up for us all, how shall He not with Him also freely give us all things.  Who shall bring a charge against God’s elect?  It is God who justifies.  Who is he who condemns?  It is Christ who died, and furthermore is also risen, who is even at the right hand of God, who also makes intercessions for us. Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?  Shall tribulations, or distress, or persecution or famine or nakedness, or peril, or sword?  As it is written: ‘For Your sake are killed all day long; We are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.’  Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors, through Him who loved us.  For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels or principalities, not powers, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, shall be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:31-39)

We love God because He loved us first.  It is clear to me that all of my worth and that which is good within comes from the Author of my salvation, the Great I Am.

One Comment
  1. Thank you Cliff. It’s true what you said. The past few months or year has revealed a lot about myself and it is humbling. For sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

