Skip to content

Can I know Love (“…for God is Love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.“- 1 John 4:16

April 29, 2013

Defining 10th Samaritan Ministry has been a challenge to me. I started with the burning need to give thanks to God for all the many blessings that He has given me. These blessings go back to far before I turned to Him for forgiveness and His all consuming grace. I find it difficult to understand the depth of His love for me, not that I am any more or less special than anyone of his creations. It is just that difficult to grasp for me, the closest I come to it is when I think of my children, but even then I look at the love I have for them and wonder whether I provide the unconditional love that they need and deserve. I do not judge them, I will sacrifice and I will speak the truth to them.

Is this enough? It isn’t enough for God when He illustrates His love for us. He is the Good Sheppard that steadfastly watches over us. His rod and His staff they comfort us. (Psalm 23) It is in this area where I find my greatest weakness as a human. I have such limited perspective that everything comes from my vantage point and actions are evaluated against what I believe is an accurate assessment of the situation. God knows our hearts. I do not know my children’s hearts. I can suppose or guess or hope but I do not know. The fact is that I always get in the way.

God is waiting for me to take these challenges to Him. He excels at helping us to understand our limitations when we chose to listen to Him. Our need to listen is very real. Our desire to listen is not so real at times. So in prayer and supplications, with thanksgiving, I will let my requests be known to Him (Philippians 4).

The same is true with the mission of 10th Samaritan Ministry. It was founded as a means to channel resources and support for those that are returning from life behind bars. The desire is to walk along side a brother or sister that is needs some comfort or support. To be what God wants me to be in these situations and to do what I can to help.

It is a time for greater action and a time for fervent prayer. I look to God for inspiration and direction. I seek Him and His righteousness first and above all. Say tuned for the developments as they come into being.

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

