Skip to content

Seeking Perspective

April 23, 2013

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post I was exploring the book of Job because of the trials that my friend has been going through. In fact as I am writing this I am expecting a call from him that will let me know the direction of the most recent trials. The temptation that I spoke of yesterday was very strong as I prayed for him. I sit and wonder what God is teaching all of us in this situation, what is in it for me.

There is an interesting perspective. This is not my trial, though I am living the pain with my friend. Watching him suffer through it all and knowing that I have no way to help other than prayer. This is not to diminish the value of prayer, it truly enhances it since I know that I can do nothing without help from the Lord. But the feeling of helplessness comes about because of my desire for my friend to be better, to feel good.

He has been through worse. I have been through worse. Others all around us go through more dramatic and difficult trials daily. It does not, however, make the desire that things would be different for us all any less. I believe that God has these times in our lives so that we can grasp what we are surrounded by.

We see evidence of suffering every day. Whether it is a senseless act of violence like the recent bombing in Boston, or the pain of a love one struggling with cancer. Pain and suffering are very real and we cannot escape them. Each one of us bear the scars of human tragedy. We also have a savior that understands and has borne more than we can imagine.
I find myself trying to make sense of it, to keep a watchful eye on what God is up to in the world around us. It becomes abundantly clear that I every time I think I have a small inkling of what is being accomplished I am brought the realization that I don’t. At the same time I have an intimate knowing that God is in control and that is all that truly matters. His will be done.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

