Skip to content

Internal Demons Rob You Of Your Light

April 20, 2013

Spending the morning in quiet reflection and prayer is a great way to start your day. Remembering how God has brought you through the trials of your life and celebrating the many blessing you have is truly an awesome way to remain in touch with Him. Each day there are challenges and where temptation can enter is through the guilt that I feel regarding the harm that I have done others and the loss that subsequently occurred.

It can be a simple memory triggered by the way the light dancing on a reflective pool of water or the aroma of some food flirting with my senses. I can be instantly transported to a place in my past where I had a different life and there I am given a choice. I can remember fondly and thank my God for the life then and the life now, or I can choose to experience the loss again.

All that we are and have experienced makes us the person that we are at this moment in time. “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” (Matthew 6:34) By living in this moment when I encounter the past or focus on the future it is only in today’s context. I seek to avoid the temptation of attempting to get too far ahead or behind.

Good memories of the past are things to cherish but they also represent a opportunity for the adversary to cause you to focus on the pain of loss and to facilitate a downward spiral that becomes difficult to escape. I have found myself tearing up while visualizing what could have been. It is a place where I do not wish to remain. Quick and fervent prayer has pulled me through resting in Philippians 4:6,7 remembering that I can as in John 16.:33 that I should constantly remember that He has overcame the world.

My past is littered with demons that can rise up and convict me of my many sins. I must remember that may journey has brought me to where I am today. Those sins have been forgiven. I am a new person living in Christ. We cannot let our past dictate our present. Our hopes are built on Christ, Jesus with whom we can do all things.

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

